Staff

Find information about our staff here.

School Administration

Role Name Phone E-mail
Head of School Professor Jason Love 0131 650 4762 jason.love@ed.ac.uk
School Executive Officer and PA to Head of School Sharon Calvert 0131 650 5858 sharon.calvert@ed.ac.uk
Head of Physical Section Dr Andrew Alexander 0131 650 4741 andrew.alexander@ed.ac.uk
Head of Organic Section Professor Colin Campbell 0131 651 3049 colin.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Head of Inorganic Section Professor Carole Morrison 0131 650 4725 c.morrison@ed.ac.uk
Head of Graduate School Professor Euan Brechin 0131 650 7545 ebrechin@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Director of Teaching Dr Chris Mowat 0131 650 4738 c.g.mowat@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Diane Gill 0131 650 4744 diane.gill@ed.ac.uk
School Operations Manager Kirsty Stewart   k.stewart@ed.ac.uk 
Health and Safety Manager Dr Steve Hankin 0131 651 3308 Steve.Hankin@ed.ac.uk
Graduate School Manager Kaisey Murphy (from June 2024)  0131 650 4724 kaisey.murphy@ed.ac.uk 
Graduate School Administrator Adean Lutton 0131 504 724 adean.lutton@ed.ac.uk 
Staffing Coordinator Kathryn Armaghan 0131 507 532 karmagha@ed.ac.uk 
Executive Secretary Carolyn Newton 0131 650 4730 c.newton@ed.ac.uk
School Secretary Emma Labrie 0131 507 546 emma.labrie@ed.ac.uk
Equality and Diversity Coordinator Dr Claire Hobday 0131 664 4529 Claire.Hobday@ed.ac.uk

School Finance

Role Name Phone E-mail
Finance Business Partner David Harper 0131 650 4714 David.Harper@ed.ac.uk
Senior Finance Analyst Khush Joshi 0131 650 4721 Khush.Joshi@ed.ac.uk
Research and Business Support Finance Manager Rachel Hughes 0131 651 7769 Rachel.Hughes@ed.ac.uk
Finance Officer Miguel Hernandez 0131 650 4714 Miguel.Hernandez@ed.ac.uk
Finance Administration Assistant Victoria Pearson   vpearson@ed.ac.uk 

Research, Internationalisation, and Business Development

Role Name Phone E-mail
Director of Research Prof. Julien Michel 0131 650 4797 julien.michel@ed.ac.uk
Director of Internationalisation Prof. Eleanor Campbell 0131 650 4729 eleanor.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive John Morrow 0131 513 429 john.morrow@ei.ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive Teresa Raventos   teresa.raventos@ei.ed.ac.uk
REF and Impact Administrator Dr Fay Campbell 0131 651 7768 fay.campbell@ed.ac.uk

Chemistry Teaching Organisation (CTO)

Role Name Phone E-mail
Teaching Office Administrator Zoe Burger 0131 651 7257 zoe.burger@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Office Administrator Morag Munro 0131 651 7258 Morag.Munro@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Office Administrator Jenna Owen 0131 504 707 jenna.owen@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Office Administrator Craig Smith 0131 650 4710 c.smith34@ed.ac.uk

Student Support Team

Role Name Phone E-mail
Head of Student Support Dr Jean O'Donoghue 0131 650 4830 j.odonoghue@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Greta Elliott 0131 651 7290 Chemistry.StudentSupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fizzy Abou Jawad 0131 651 7290 Chemistry.StudentSupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Jenny Green 0131 651 7290 Chemistry.StudentSupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Adrian Penny 0131 651 7290 Chemistry.StudentSupport@ed.ac.uk

Marketing, Student Recruitment and Communications

Role Name Phone E-mail
Head of Marketing, Student Recruitment and Communications Martin Boddie 0131 650 4708 martin.boddie@ed.ac.uk
Alumni Relations Marketing Officer Kerry Balkwill   Kerry.Balkwill@ed.ac.uk
Widening Participation and Outreach Officer Dr Jenny Gracie   jenny.gracie@ed.ac.uk
Marketing and Recruitment Coordinator Fiona Scott   f.scott@ed.ac.uk

IT Services

Role Name Phone E-mail
IT Services Manager Jim Barclay 0131 650 4709 j.barclay@ed.ac.uk
IT Operations Manager Piotr Bialonowksi 0131 650 4709 piotr.bialonowski@ed.ac.uk
Website and eLearning Officer Michael Johnstone 0131 650 4709 michael.johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Computing Support Officer Archie Whatley 0131 650 4709 archie.whatley@ed.ac.uk

Stores

Role Name Phone E-mail
Stores Manager and Waste Management Simon Cummings 0131 650 7342 scummin3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Stores Officer Robyn Brooks 0131 650 7342 jbrooks4@ed.ac.uk 

Technical Services

Role Name Phone E-mail
Estates and Technical Manager Dr David Brown 0131 650 4775 David.Brown@ed.ac.uk
Glassblower Stuart Johnstone 0131 650 4829 stuart.johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Senior Electronics/Electrical Engineer Lloyd Mitchell 0131 650 4784 lloyd.mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Senior Mechanical Engineer George Steedman 0131 650 4791 george.steedman@ed.ac.uk
Senior Teaching Lab Technician Jennifer Anderson 0131 650 4781 j.anderson21@ed.ac.uk

Address and Phone Number

University of Edinburgh Joseph Black Building David Brewster Road Edinburgh EH9 3FJ Tel: +44 131 650 7546 Fax: +44 131 650 6453